At a glance
- 1PelesimMost visitors who want a fixed data plan at a low price$1110 GB, 30 days
- 2NomadFirst-time eSIM users who want to try before paying$1610 GB, 30 days
- 3UbigiTravellers who want an established carrier brand$16.5010 GB, 30 days
- 4AiraloPeople who want 24/7 live chat support$1810 GB, 30 days
- 5HolaflyHeavy users who never want to count gigabytesUnlimited only
How we picked
We compared the plan most visitors to Japan buy, 10 GB for 30 days, plus each provider’s unlimited option, hotspot rules, refunds and support. Prices were read from each provider’s own Japan page on October 19, 2026. Pelesim prices are shown before VAT; other prices are as each site displayed them, and local taxes may apply.
Photo by Denys Nevozhai on Unsplash
How much data you need in Japan
Maps, trains and messaging use far less than people expect: 5 GB covers a typical week of navigation and social apps. Choose 10 GB or more if you will stream, share a hotspot with a laptop, or stay two weeks or longer. If you cannot predict it, an unlimited day pass removes the guesswork.
Before you buy
Check that your phone supports eSIM and is carrier unlocked. Install the eSIM at home while you are online, then switch it on and enable data roaming for that line when you land. Keep your home SIM active for calls and SMS, since every plan here is data only.
No. 1, our pick
Pelesim
Best for most visitors who want a fixed data plan at a low price
The lowest 10 GB price of the five, on SoftBank and KDDI, with day passes for heavy users and a plan that only starts when you connect in Japan.
What we like
- 10 GB for 30 days for $11
- Unlimited day passes, 7 days for $19 (3 GB a day, then 1 Mbps)
- Starts on first connection in Japan, so you can install early
- Refund within 30 days if the eSIM is not activated
Keep in mind
- Data only, no phone number
- Android app only so far; iPhone users manage it on the web
- 10 GB / 30 days
- $11
- Unlimited
- 7 days for $19
- Hotspot
- Allowed
- Phone number
- No
- Networks
- SoftBank, KDDI (au)
No. 2
Nomad
Best for first-time eSIM users who want to try before paying
A strong runner-up with a sale price on 10 GB and a free 1 GB trial for new users.
What we like
- Free 1 GB trial for new users
- Hotspot supported
- Refunds within 30 days for plans not yet installed
Keep in mind
- 10 GB is $16 on sale ($18 list)
- Unlimited plans are non-refundable
- 10 GB / 30 days
- $16 (sale)
- Unlimited
- 3 to 21 days
- Hotspot
- Allowed
- Phone number
- Some plans
No. 3
Ubigi
Best for travellers who want an established carrier brand
Carrier-backed and fairly priced, with in-app top-ups, though its checkout showed euros against a dollar headline.
What we like
- 10 GB for 30 days for $16.50
- Top up instantly in the app
Keep in mind
- Refunds only if none of the plan was used
- Page heading shows US$, checkout shows euros
- 10 GB / 30 days
- $16.50
- Unlimited
- Best World plans
- Hotspot
- Not stated
- Phone number
- No
No. 4
Airalo
Best for people who want 24/7 live chat support
The biggest name in eSIMs, with 24/7 chat and a polished app, at a higher price for the same data.
What we like
- 24/7 live chat and WhatsApp support
- iOS and Android apps
Keep in mind
- 10 GB for 30 days is $18
- Change-of-plan refunds come as in-app credit
- 10 GB / 30 days
- $18
- Unlimited
- 30 days for $69
- Hotspot
- Allowed
- Phone number
- No
No. 5
Holafly
Best for heavy users who never want to count gigabytes
Unlimited-only day passes that suit heavy streamers, but they cost more and cap hotspot sharing at 1 GB a day.
What we like
- Every plan is unlimited
- Refunds can be requested for up to 6 months
Keep in mind
- 7 days is $27.50, 30 days is $73.90
- Hotspot capped at 1 GB a day, and no top-ups
- 10 GB / 30 days
- No fixed plans
- Unlimited
- 7 days for $27.50
- Hotspot
- 1 GB a day
- Phone number
- No
Compare all five
| Our pickPelesim | No. 2Nomad | No. 3Ubigi | No. 4Airalo | No. 5Holafly | |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 10 GB / 30 days | $11 | $16 (sale) | $16.50 | $18 | No fixed plans |
| Unlimited | 7 days for $19 | 3 to 21 days | Best World plans | 30 days for $69 | 7 days for $27.50 |
| Hotspot | Allowed | Allowed | Not stated | Allowed | 1 GB a day |
| Phone number | No | Some plans | No | No | No |
| Networks | SoftBank, KDDI (au) | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed | Not listed |




